Happy Derby!

2016-05-07 17.12.59

Sal mixed us some bourbon cocktails last year, and we donned our Derby apparel for the most exciting two minutes in sports.

Living close to Louisville for a couple of years gave us an appreciation for Derby and how the city celebrates it. My aunts had been telling me for years that Louisville basically shuts down during Derby Days to make time for all of the events surrounding the horse race.

Sal and I were only in Louisville once for Derby, and while we didn’t get to the track, I made a hat (pictured above) and we joined some friends at a bar to watch. I don’t remember anything about who won or what happened, but there is something exciting about the power of those horses and the strategy employed in racing (do read Laura Hillenbrand’s Seabiscuit). This was also when I drank my first mint julep, though the friend that mixed it didn’t so much as muddle the mint as drop it into a glass of bourbon. Worked for me.

If you plan to celebrate Derby, get yourself some good bourbon, craft a hat, and have fun. Your city may not shut down for Derby Days, but take an afternoon and pretend it does.

 

Leave a Reply

